Though batsmen put a team in the driver’s seat in a Test match, the bowlers win you matches by picking 20 wickets. For an elite Test series like the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, where two of the strongest cricketing nations meet, the bowlers play a significant role in the sides’ victories.

Both Australia and India have generated multiple world-class bowlers. However, the bowlers mentioned below were able to perform in high-octane scenarios.

Note: The India-Australia Test matches have been named Border-Gavaskar Trophy only since 1996, and you can find out why here.

This article below will list the top ten cricketers who have picked the most wickets in Border-Gavaskar Trophy. (You can find the leading run-scorers in BGT in the chart here)

Nathan Lyon116478/5063.63.0532.4092
Ravichandran Ashwin114427/10362.82.7028.3671
Anil Kumble111388/14158.73.0930.32102
Harbhajan Singh95358/8461.12.9429.9573
Ravindra Jadeja85307/4249.02.3018.8551
Zaheer Khan61345/9163.23.3735.5930
Ishant Sharma59464/4180.13.1542.2000
Brett Lee53245/4757.13.3531.9820
Glenn McGrath51225/4850.12.2318.6421
Josh Hazlewood51286/6763.62.5326.9440

Key Stats

Kapil Dev (79), Erapalli Prasanna (57), Bishan Bedi (56), and Shivlal Yadav (55) missed out from this list as it includes only the BGT series that started in 1996.

Among the current cricketers, Ravi Ashwin and Nathan Lyon can reach the 100-wicket milestone in the days to come.

Ravindra Jadeja, with the best strike rate on the list, is a dark horse to lead the table in the coming days. Jaddu also has the best economy rate among any bowler, who has more than 2 BGT wickets.

Here you can briefly understand how the Bowling Averages, Strike Rates & Economy Rates are calculated.

Four bowlers have picked an 8-wicket haul in BGT, where you can find three in the table above. The other is Jason Krejza, who picked 8/215 in Nagpur Test in 2008.

Anil Kumble, the first to pick 100 wickets in the Tests between India and Australia, also tops the 5-for list with a double-digit number of 10. And he looks unbeatable!

Read Now: Most 5-fors in Test Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *