IPL 2022StatsIndeed

Most Wickets in Powerplay Overs, Middle Overs, & Death Overs in IPL 2022

This article will detail the list of bowlers who have picked the most wickets in the phases of powerplay overs (1-6 overs), middle-overs (7-16 overs), and death overs (17-20 overs) in IPL 2022.

Yuzvendra Chahal is the purple cap winner of the 2022 season with 27 wickets.

Before checking into the stats, here are three articles you should read:

  1. Most Wickets in a Single Season of IPL
  2. IPL Purple Cap Winners – Year by Year
  3. Complete IPL 2022 Stats & Facts – An Infographics

Let’s start with the overall bowling stats of the tournament.

Most Wickets in IPL 2022 (Overall)

1Yuzvendra Chahal17277.7519.5115.115/40
2Wanindu Hasaranga16267.5416.5313.155/18
3Kagiso Rabada13238.4617.6512.524/33
4Umran Malik14229.0320.1813.415/25
5Kuldeep Yadav14218.4419.9514.194/14
6Josh Hazlewood12208.1118.8513.954/25
7Mohammed Shami16208.0024.4018.303/25
8Harshal Patel15197.6621.5816.894/34
9Rashid Khan16196.5922.1520.154/24
10Prasidh Krishna17198.2829.0021.003/22

Wanindu Hasaranga, the Royal Challengers spinner, did well in this IPL 2022 with 26 wickets and justified his selection ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal in the auction. He played only two matches in the last season and didn’t pick up any wickets.

Now, before checking into the best powerplay bowlers in IPL 2022, have a read at our article on “Why is powerplay overs crucial in a tournament like IPL?

Most Wickets in Powerplay Overs (0-6) in IPL 2022

1Mohammed Shami16116.6224.0921.823/10
2Mukesh Choudhary13118.5324.8217.453/17
3Trent Boult16106.9529.9025.82/9
4Prasidh Krishna17106.5823.7021.62/2
5Kagiso Rabada1298.2422.8816.671/6
6Umesh Yadav1286.4224.8823.252/12
7Daniel Sams1187.0518.5015.753/14
8Dushmantha Chameera1278.1227.8620.572/13
9Josh Hazlewood1276.8424.4321.432/12
10Avesh Khan1377.8421.2916.292/9

Mohammad Shami was unplayable with the new ball and picked up 11 wickets in the power play. The right-arm fast bowler is one of the main reasons for the Gujarat Titans’ success in the tournament. GT took the most wickets in the powerplay and reached the finals in their debut season.

This season, Mukesh Choudhary was one of the best finds for the Chennai Super Kings. Deepak Chahar, the powerplay specialist, was ruled out of the tournament with an injury. Mukesh bowled well like Deepak Chahar in the powerplay and took 11 wickets.

Looking at the average column, one can see how difficult it is to restrict the batsmen in this phase of the game, and considering that, Daniel Sams has been brilliant at this phase in restricting the run-flow while picking 8 wickets. He also has the best strike rate of the lot.

Most Wickets in Middle Overs (7–16) in IPL 2022

1Yuzvendra Chahal17207.4319.7015.9
1Wanindu Hasaranga16207.2717.4514.4
3Kuldeep Yadav14208.3219.8514.3
4Umran Malik14198.5119.7813.95
5Rashid Khan16176.2118.9419.44
6Ravi Bishnoi14118.3434.9025.09
7Rahul Chahar13107.4531.3025.2
8Harshal Patel15106.2919.5018.6
9Ravichandran Ashwin1797.5143.4434.67
10Moeen Ali1086.9118.8716.38

Yuzvendra Chahal (RR), Kuldeep Yadav (DC), and Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) have taken the most wickets in the middle overs.

The Sri Lankan leg spinner, Hasaranga picking up 20 wickets in the middle overs is one reason why RCB picked more wickets in the middle overs this season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad pace bowling sensation Umran Malik picking 19 wickets at a strike rate under 14 (the best in this list), has troubled batsmen with his high pace. The right-arm speed star constantly clicked 150kmph this season.

Most Wickets in Death Overs (17-20) in IPL 2022

1Dwayne Bravo9119.1610.276.73
2Bhuvneshwar Kumar1398.6018.3312.78
3Harshal Patel1399.5822.8814.33
4Kagiso Rabada1099.1811.227.33
5Josh Hazlewood11810.8219.6210.88
6Obed McCoy788.5410.507.38
7Mohammed Shami1189.6313.258.25
8T Natarajan1086.020.6210.5
9Shardul Thakur12811.8621.2510.75
10Jasprit Bumrah1277.3818.2814.86

Yuzvendra Chahal, Andre Russell, and Tim Southee also picked 7 overs in the death in this edition.

Death overs specialist Dwayne Bravo picked up 11 wickets in the death overs this season. He played only 9 matches and missed a few. Another death bowler specialist, Harshal Patel, picked up 10 wickets.

Read Now: Which batsman has scored the most runs in death overs in IPL history?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *