Mohammed Azharuddin and MS Dhoni of India are the only two captains to win two Asia Cup tournaments as captain.

MS Dhoni, who led the champion Indian team in the 2010 & 2016 editions, holds the top position in most matches played and wins as captain in Asia Cup tournaments. Here’s the list of Asia Cup winners edition by edition.

This article will list the best captains with most matches wins in Asia cup – ODI & T20I editions.

Most Wins as Captains in Asia Cup (ODI)

MS Dhoni (IND)14941064.28
RG Sharma (IND)11910181.81
Arjuna Ranatunga (SL)13940069.23
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK)10730070
Moin Khan (PAK)66000100
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)10640060
Mohammad Azharuddin (IND)7520071.42
Angelo Mathews (SL)7520071.42
Marvan Atapattu (SL)5410080.00
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)5410080.00

Most Wins as Captain in Asia Cup (T20I)

MS Dhoni (IND)55000100
Dasun Shanaka (SL)6510083.33
Amjad Javed (UAE)7340042.86
Babar Azam (PAK)6330050
Mashrafe Mortaza (BAN)5320060
Asghar Afghan (AFG)2310066.67
Mohammad Nabi (AFG)5230040
Shahid Afridi (PAK)4220050
Rohit Sharma (IND)4220050

Most Asia Cup Matches Won as Captain (All formats Combined)

MS Dhoni (IND)19144176.32
Rohit Sharma (IND)15113173.33
Dasun Shanaka (SL)1192081.81
Arjuna Ranatunga (SL)1394069.23
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK)1073070.00
Moin Khan (PAK)6600100.00
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)1064060.00
Mashrafe Mortaza (BAN)1165054.54
Mohammed Azharuddin (IND)752071.42
Angelo Mathews (SL)752071.42

Key Stats

So far, Moin Khan (Pakistan) has 100% of wins as captain in the Asia Cup while captaining the side for five or more games.

When it comes to the T20I edition of the tournament, MS Dhoni not only tops the list but also carries a 100% winning percentage in the format. In the 2016 edition, India won all 4 league matches and beat Bangladesh in the final, all under the captaincy of MSD.

Mahela Jayawardene holds the record for representing his team in the most matches in the Asia Cup – 28 games – the feat Rohit Sharma passed in the 2022 edition.

Sanath Jayasuriya and Virat Kohli hold the record for most runs scored in the Asia Cup in ODI & T20I, respectively, and Muttiah Muralitharan tops the bowlers’ list in ODIs. In contrast, India’s pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar leads in the shortest format.

Also Read: Highest Individual Scores in Asia Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *