Top 10: Most Wins (Matches) in IPL by Teams

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the highest quality cricket tournaments in the world. Various superstars across the world aspire to play in the IPL. Indian Premier League has created a name and fame for several youngsters and allowed them to play with these legends.

So far, 15 different teams have been part of the Indian Premier League. The first match of IPL was played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore, in which KKR emerged as the winner. Rajasthan Royals won the first IPL season in 2008.

Since then, the Indian Premier League has been an important part of cricketing calendars. Fans wait with lots of excitement to support their favourite IPL teams.

In this article, we would look at the top 10 teams who have won the most matches in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Mumbai Indians247138105022056.68
Chennai Super Kings22513191001258.74
Kolkata Knight Riders237119114013050.63
Royal Challengers Bangalore241114119021448.95
Delhi Capitals238105127031245.76
Punjab Kings232104124031046.12
Rajasthan Royals206101100021250.49
Sunrisers Hyderabad1667884013047.59
Deccan Chargers752946000038.67
Gujarat Titans332310000069.70
Rising Pune Supergiant301515000050.00
Lucknow Super Giants301712000158.62
Gujarat Lions301316001043.33
Pune Warriors461233000126.67
Kochi Tuskers Kerala1468000042.86

Stats Insights

Mumbai Indians have won most matches in the history of IPL. They have also won the most number of IPL titles, making them the most successful team in the history of IPL. MI’s captain, Rohit Sharma leads the list of captains who have led their teams to most number of victories in IPL.

Among all the teams who have played 50 plus IPL matches, Chennai Super Kings has the best win percentage of 58.7%. Mumbai Indians have the 2nd best win percentage (56.5) in the history of IPL. At the same time, Deccan Chargers have the lowest win percentage (38%).

Chennai Super Kings is at 2nd position on this list despite missing the two IPL seasons in 2016 – 2017. CSK has qualified for playoffs the most number of times in the IPL. The Chennai-based franchise also has the best win percentage in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals have won most matches (3) in the super overs. At the same time, Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad have lost most matches (3) in the super over.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals are the three teams who haven’t won an IPL trophy despite playing 50 plus IPL matches.

With two new IPL teams, Lucknow Supergiants and Gujarat Titans being done well in their inaugural season, both are expected to enter this top 10 list by the next 2 IPL seasons.

Know Here: Which team has lost most number of matches in a single IPL season?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *