World Cup

Pakistan at the T20 World Cup – Results Every Edition

Pakistan have a reputation for being a strong team in world cricket. It holds true when it comes to playing in the T20 World Cup.

They have been a persistent side in the tournament’s history, making it to knockouts in several editions. However, Pakistan’s unpredictable nature in the global T20 event has resulted in some remarkable victories and shocking defeats.

This article will look at Pakistan’s record in each T20 World Cup edition.

Pakistan’s Performance in Every T20 World Cup Edition

YearEdition ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
2007Runner Up75110
2014Super 1042200
2016Super 1041300
2022Runner Up74300

Key Insights

After a crushing defeat in the 2007 final, Pakistan bounced back stronger to lift their maiden T20 World Cup title in 2009. Younis Khan led Pakistan to victory, beating Sri Lanka in the final.

Pakistan have made it to the T20 World Cup knockouts 6 times, reaching the final and semi-final 3 times each. Thus, they remain the only team to qualify for the knockouts 6 times.

Pakistan is one of the 2 teams that qualified for the knockout stages in 4 consecutive editions. The Men in Green reached knockouts in a row between 2007 and 2012.

9 matches played by Pakistan in T20 World Cup knockouts are the most for any team.

Pakistan were involved in the only bowl out that took place in the T20 World Cup against India. After their 2007 group stage match ended in a tie, Pakistan lost in the bowl out to India by 3-0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *