List: Player of the Tournament in T20 World Cup – Every Year

Seven editions of the T20 World Cup have been done, and Virat Kohli is the only player in the tournament to win the Man of the Tournament award twice.

The Indian superstar won them in 2014 and 2016 in a row. You can find the tournament’s complete winners list here.

Surprisingly, there is no Player of the Tournament awardee from the two-time World Champions, West Indies.

This article will list the Man of the Series winners awardees of every edition of the T20 World Cup.

2007Shahid AfridiPakistan91 Runs & 12 WicketsRunners-up
2009Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka317 RunsRunners-up
2010Kevin PietersenEngland248 RunsChampions
2012Shane WatsonAustralia249 Runs & 11 WicketsSemi Finals
2014Virat KohliIndia319 RunsRunners-up
2016Virat KohliIndia273 RunsSemi Finals
2021David WarnerAustralia289 RunsChampions
2022Sam CurranEngland13 Wickets & 12 RunsChampions

Key Stats

Kevin Pietersen (2010), David Warner (2021), and Sam Curran (2022) are the players to win the award in the same year their team won the championships.

Shahid Afridi (2007) and Shane Watson (2012) were awarded the esteemed ‘Man of the Series’ trophy for their all-round performance. Otherwise, it is all the batters who won the honors in every other edition, except Sam Curran in 2022. Batsmen’s format, it is!

Read here the leading run-scorers and the leading wicket-takers of every edition of the T20 World Cup to find how many of them ended up being the tournament’s best players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *