World Cup

South Africa at the T20 World Cup – Results Every Edition

South Africa is one of the most formidable teams in world cricket and can give a tough fight against any opponent. However, when it comes to ICC events, no team is as unlucky as them.

The same holds true for the T20 World Cup, which they haven’t yet won since its inception in 2007. However, South Africa have had moments in the tournament’s history where they were so close yet so far from victory.

This article will glance at South Africa’s record in every T20 World Cup edition.

South Africa’s Performance in Every T20 World Cup Edition

YearEdition ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
2007Super 854100
2010Super 852300
2012Super 852300
2016Super 1042200
2021Super 1254100
2022Super 1252201

Key Insights

South Africa have made it to the T20 World Cup knockouts only twice, with both being semi-final appearances in 2009 and 2014. The Proteas team haven’t reached the final of the tournament even once.

South Africa won 5 matches in a row before losing in the 2009 Semi-Final against Pakistan. This is the most number of matches won by South Africa in a single T20 World Cup edition.

Out of the 8 editions, South Africa have finished their campaign in the second round 6 times (Super 8/10/12).

Graeme Smith has won the most matches for South Africa as a captain. He led the Proteas in 16 games in 3 editions (2007, 2009, and 2010), winning 11 of them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *