Top 5: IPL Teams with the Most Wins in a Single Season 

Indian Premier League is the lone domestic tournament that comes first in the list of most-watched Cricket leagues. The popularity it gained in the last decade is a phenomenal accomplishment. BCCI carved the idea of IPL from the ICC T20 world cup of 2007. However, the Vitality T20 Blast, the domestic t20 league of England, is the oldest in this sphere. But, it is still struggling to achieve notoriety, while IPL has done it in only the last couple of years. The most successful franchise in the tournament is Mumbai Indians, with 5 trophy wins, closely followed by Chennai Super Kings, having 4 title victories.

The top five here are calculated by taking only the league stage games into account, and the teams are ranked here based on their league stage winning percentage in a particular season.

Many teams in the editions of IPL have come up with incredible victory records in a solo season of the league, but here are the top 5 teams among them who achieved this feat early.

#1 Rajasthan Royals (11/14) in 2008 – 78.57

The inaugural season of IPL 2008 was magical for Rajasthan Royals, as they were its conquerors. Shane Warne leading Rajasthan Royals had achieved 11 victories in that season and had defeated many big teams like Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, and Kolkata Knight Riders. This is the most vital & the only victorious edition in which Rajasthan had performed brilliantly. Except for this season, RR has been so poor in the further journey of the IPL. 

#2 Kings XI Punjab (11/14) in 2014 – 78.57

Like Rajasthan, the edition of IPL 2014 was the only season where Punjab Kings had some joyful moments in their whole voyage of the Indian Premier League. The former Australian skipper George Bailey was in charge of the team during the season. He had successfully won 11 out of 14 matches for the team and took the team to the final, but got defeated in the hands of Kolkata Knight Riders. Wriddhiman Saha had smacked a brilliant ton in that encounter, but still, due to poor bowling, Punjab had lost the most crucial clash of the season. 

#3 Mumbai Indians (10/14) in 2010 – 71.43

Mumbai Indians had been so stalwart in the third season of the Indian Premier League. Sachin Tendulkar-led team has finished on No1 position in the league stage and quantified Play-off chances. Sachin was the highest run-scorer for Mumbai Indians in that season, and along with the strong bowling attack, he had taken the team into the finals. But unfortunately, CSK had defeated them by 22 runs and won the trophy of IPL 2010.

#4 Mumbai Indians (10/14) in 2017 – 71.43

The Winners of IPL 2017 had been in the gold form as far as the concern of the 2017 league phase. They had made a record of winning 5 matches in a row in an IPL season. Also, they headed into the finals of the IPL 2017 and won it against the Rising Pune Supergiants by the margin of just 1 run. The magic of Lasith Malinga had worked for them in the end moments of the game. They stood at no 3 and 4 in the list of most match-winning teams in solo season.

#5 Deccan Chargers (10/14) in 2009 – 71.43

Adam Gilchrist leading Deccan Chargers had been mesmerising in the second season of the Indian Premier League. They have got under the skin of every team in the league and stayed victorious at the end. This is the second win of the franchise led by an Australian captain. In the finals, Anil Kumble-led Royal Challengers Bangalore couldn’t survive the challenge of DC and got defeated by 6 runs in the end game.

Note: Gujarat Titans in 2022 & 2023 and Delhi Capitals in 2021 have also won 10 out of 14 times, equalling the teams mentioned above in #3, #4, & #5 positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *