StatsIndeedWorld Cup

Top 10: Teams with Most Wins in T20 World Cup History

The T20 World Cup is an exciting event in the cricketing landscape where the top teams from around the world battle it out against each other. 

In the race to clinch the silverware, we have witnessed teams putting in all-out efforts to come on top of their opponents, registering plenty of memorable wins.

This article will delve into the top 10 teams with the most wins in T20 World Cup history.

Teams with Most Wins in T20 World Cup

TeamMatchesWonLostTied+WonTied+LostNo Result
Sri Lanka533121100
South Africa432715001
New Zealand432318020
West Indies412118101

Key Insights

In 2022, Sri Lanka became the first team to register 30 wins and feature in 50 matches in T20 World Cup history.

Bangladesh is the only team to lose more than 25 matches in the global T20 tournament.

New Zealand and Pakistan have been involved in 2 tied World Cup matches. On both occasions, New Zealand lost in the Super Over against Sri Lanka and the West Indies in 2012. While Pakistan lost the only bowl-out that took place in the tournament’s history against India in 2007 and lost their second tied match against the USA in the Super Over in 2024.

India have registered the longest winning streak in the T20 World Cup, as they won 7 consecutive matches between the 2012 and 2014 editions.

On the other hand, Bangladesh recorded the longest losing streak, which spanned 4 editions from 2007 to 2012 and 10 matches.

Australia, England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies have won the T20 World Cup at least once. England and the West Indies have clinched the title twice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *