The First Five IPL Teams to Win 100 Games

Indian Premier League is the most competitive T20 league in the world. The best part of IPL is that all the teams are well balanced. IPL teams spend a lot of money in IPL auctions to form a perfect team combination. However, it’s never easy to win matches with great consistency in the IPL. Indian Premier League is one of the most-watched cricket tournaments in the world.

So far, 15 different teams have been part of the Indian Premier League. The first match of IPL was played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Cricket fans wait the whole year to watch IPL and support their favourite IPL teams and players. As of now 6 teams have won more than 100 IPL matches, and you can find here the teams ordered on their winning counts in the tournament.

Since then, the Indian Premier League has been an important part of cricketing calendars. So far, 6 teams have won 100 or more matches in the history of the Indian Premier League. In this article, we will list out the first five teams to win 100 matches in the Indian Premier League.

1) Mumbai Indians in 2019

Mumbai Indians was the first team to win 100 matches in the history of the Indian Premier League. They achieved this feat during the 2019 IPL season after defeating Chennai Super Kings in a league match. Mumbai is also the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League. They have won 5 IPL titles, which is the most by any team in the IPL.

Captain Rohit Sharma is the leading run-scorer for Mumbai Indians. At the same time, Sri Lankan Pacer Lasith Malinga is the highest wicket-taker for Mumbai Indians. Jasprit Bumrah, Harbhajan Singh and Kieron Pollard are the other legends who played a crucial role in the success of Mumbai Indians.

2) Chennai Super Kings in 2019

Chennai Super Kings became the second team after Mumbai Indians to achieve this feat of 100 IPL wins. They accomplished this after defeating Delhi Capitals by 6 wickets at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in the IPL 2019 season. Chennai Super Kings have 4 IPL titles to their name and have the highest win percentage in the history of the IPL.

Suresh Raina is the leading run-scorer for Chennai Super Kings. West Indian pacer DJ Bravo has grabbed the most wickets for CSK in the IPL. The leadership and finishing skills of MS Dhoni have been one of the biggest factors in the success of Chennai Super Kings. CSK is the most consistent team in IPL history. They have reached the playoffs on most occasions in the IPL.

3) Kolkata Knight Riders in 2021

In article image middle

Kolkata Knight Riders is the third greatest IPL team. KKR achieved this feat of 100 IPL wins after defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2021 season of the Indian Premier League. They became the third team to do so. KKR have two titles to its name and has made the playoffs on 8 occasions. They were also the finalists of IPL 2021.

Gautam Gambhir is the leading run-scorer for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL. He led from the front and did amazing captaincy to take KKR to 2 IPL titles. Sunil Narine and Andre Russell have been the most impactful players who played a big role in the success of KKR in the IPL.

4) Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2021

Royal Challengers Bangalore was the fourth team to win 100 games in IPL history. Virat Kohli-led side achieved their 100th win in IPL history against Delhi Capitals in the 2021 season of Indian Premier League. However, Royal Challengers Bangalore have failed to win an IPL title. They reached the finals of IPL 2009, 2011 and 2016 but faced defeats in all these IPL finals.

Former RCB captain Virat Kohli is the top run-scorer for RCB in the history of IPL. He has always led from the front. Chris Gayle and AB De Villiers were the top 2 impactful players for the Bangalore franchise in the IPL. Yuzvendra Chahal carried the bowling attack of RCB on his shoulders over the years.

5) Delhi Capitals in 2022

In article ad end

Delhi Capitals became the fifth team to win 100 IPL games after winning their match against Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League. Delhi Capitals have become a consistent team in IPL since the 2019 season. They reached the playoffs three consecutive times. However, they failed to win the IPL title.

Rishabh Pant is the leading run-scorer for Delhi Capitals in IPL. He has been one of the high impactful players for the Delhi Capitals. Virender Sehwag, Shikhar Dhawan and Amit Mishra were the other Delhi legends who played a big role in the wins of the Delhi Capitals in IPL.

Read Now: Which batsman has scored most 3s in IPL?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *