Virat Kohli has undeniably been the best batter of the last decade or so, and his contributions to any team he has played for have been phenomenal.

Kohli has led his sides from the front, both as a leader and a batter. And this holds true in the IPL as well, where he sits pretty at the top as the leading run-getter of the tournament with 7280+ runs.

We all know Virat Kohli and scoring centuries are synonymous. He would not have racked up those many runs without reaching the 3-figure mark.

So, here is a list of centuries that Virat Kohli has scored in his illustrious IPL career.

Virat Kohli IPL Centuries List

Century No.Score (Balls)4s/6sInnsAgainstVenueYearResult
1100* (63)11/11Gujarat LionsRajkot2016Lost
2108* (58)8/72Rising Pune SupergiantsBengaluru2016Won
3109 (55)5/81Gujarat LionsBengaluru2016Won
4113 (50)12/81Kings XI PunjabBengaluru2016Won
5100 (58)9/41Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata2019Won
6100 (63)12/42Sunrisers HyderabadHyderabad2023Won
7101* (61)13/11Gujarat TitansBengaluru2023Lost
8113* (72)12/41Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur2024Lost

Key Insights

Virat Kohli has smashed 8 centuries in the IPL spread across 4 different seasons, and all of it came while playing for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) franchise. Apart from 8 centuries, his half-century tally in the tournament stands beyond 50.

6 instances when Virat Kohli has led the RCB side and hammered a century. The only game where the star batter scored a century and didn’t lead the team was the one against SRH in the 2023 edition away from home. That was his sixth IPL ton.

Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the most tons in the IPL. The next best is his long-time RCB teammate Chris Gayle, who has 6 of them.

Also Read | The Top 5 Knocks of Virat Kohli in IPL

Out of the 8, 3 of his centuries came in a losing cause, 2 versus a Gujarat-based side and 1 against Rajasthan. The chase master has 2 centuries in successful run chases.

Virat Kohli is one of the 2 players, the other being Jos Buttler (2022), to have scored 4 centuries in a single IPL season. Shubman Gill comes next, having scored 3 centuries in the 2023 edition.

Kohli scored 973 runs in the 2016 edition, where he amassed 4 tons, and that tally still remains unconquered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *