StatsIndeedWorld Cup

Top 10: Youngest Captains in T20 World Cup History

Over the years, we have seen more experienced players tasked with the responsibility of leading a cricket team. However, a few players show their leadership skills at an early age, grabbing the chance to captain their teams.

And what’s a better opportunity than leading your national team at a global event like the T20 World Cup?

The T20 tournament has witnessed youngsters leading their sides from the front, soaking up the pressure and expectations.

This article will list the top 10 youngest captains in T20 World Cup history.

Youngest Captains in T20 World Cup History

Rohit Paudel21y 276dNepal2024
Prosper Utseya22y 170dZimbabwe2007
Shakib Al Hasan23y 38dBangladesh2010
Mohammad Ashraful23y 68dBangladesh2007
Jamie Atkinson23y 205dHong Kong2014
Denesh Ramdin24y 89dWest Indies2009
Dinesh Chandimal24y 124dSri Lanka2014
William Porterfield24y 275dIreland2009
Mushfiqur Rahim25y 135dBangladesh2012
Kane Williamson25y 220dNew Zealand2016

Note: Age* is considered at the start of the first match as a captain in the T20 World Cup.

Key Insights

With 21 years and 276 days, Nepal’s Rohit Paudel became the youngest captain in the T20 World Cup’s history. Paudel broke Prosper Utseya’s 17-year-old record (22 years and 170 days) when he took the field while leading Nepal against the Netherlands on June 4, 2024.

Khurram Khan stands on the extreme opposite side of this record as the oldest captain in the T20 World Cup. He led UAE in their last match of the 2014 edition at the age of 42 years and 273 days. Thus far, Khurram Khan is the only player to captain a side after turning 40 in the T20 tournament.

A total of 8 captains have led their teams before turning 25 years old, with 2 players — Mohammad Ashraful and Shakib Al Hasan — commanding Bangladesh.

Ashraful is the only player to lead a team in 2 different T20 World Cup editions before turning 25. He was at the helm of Bangladesh in the 2007 and 2009 iterations.

At 26 years and 79 days, MS Dhoni is the youngest skipper to clinch the T20 World Cup. Dhoni guided India to win the inaugural edition in 2007 by defeating Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *