Bengaluru’s Mangalam Chinnaswamy stadium is a cricketing venue that’s a very difficult place to bowl in for bowlers, courtesy of the shorter boundaries and the batting-friendly pitches.

Most of Yuzvendra Chahal’s IPL career has been built in this same venue, which is why he is a special talent. The ability to strategise and the audacity to flight the ball distinguish him from other bowlers. Primarily a chess player, Chahal, the thinking bowler, made it to the Indian side just with his IPL numbers and is currently one of the leading white-bowler for the nation.

This article will list the year-wise wickets and bowling numbers of Yuzvendra Chahal in every IPL season.

Yuzvendra Chahal Yearwise IPL Wickets Tally


Key Stats

Mumbai Indians picked Yuzi Chahal in 2013, where he was offered one game but didn’t pick a wicket. The following year, he was bought by RCB, the franchise where he stayed and flourished for 8 years.

He became the first and the only player to pick 100 IPL wickets for RCB and ended up with 139 wickets for the Bangalore-based side when he was released before the 2021 auction. Can you guess the other bowlers who picked 100 wickets for a single IPL franchise? You can find the answers here.

It took 84 games for the leggie to reach 100-wickets mark, the fifth-fastest in IPL.

In the mega-auction of 2021, he was picked up by Rajasthan Royals.

Yuzi’s first-ever 5-for came in the 2022 edition against Kolkata Knight Riders while playing for Rajasthan Royals. He displayed a player-of-the-match performance, bowling a crucial over in which he picked up four wickets, including a hattrick. You can find the list of all IPL hattricks here.

Brilliant performance throughout the 2022 season earned Chahal his first Purple Cap in the tournament. The 27 wickets he picked that year is only five less than the bowler who picked the most in a single IPL season.

The Indian leg-spinner has dismissed Quinton de Kock 6 times in IPL, which is one lesser than the record of a bowler dismissing a batter for the most time in IPL.

Read: IPL Purple Cap Winner – Every Season

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *