In-Depth Stats

ICC Cricketer of the Year (All-Winners till date)

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (ICC Cricketer of the Year) Award is awarded to the best cricketer of the year in an annual event by International Cricket Council (ICC). It is the ultimate individual award presented to the male cricketers for their superlative performances every year.

Here is the list of winners who have won this prestigious cricketer award year by year.

Winners List – ICC Cricketer of the Year Awards

2004Rahul DravidIndia
2005Jacques Kallis
Andrew Flintoff
South Africa
2006Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2008Shivnarine ChanderpaulWest Indies
2009Mitchell JohnsonAustralia
2010Sachin TendulkarIndia
2011Jonathan TrottEngland
2012Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka
2013Michael ClarkeAustralia
2014Mitchell JohnsonAustralia
2015Steve SmithAustralia
2016Ravichandran AshwinIndia
2017Virat KohliIndia
2018Virat KohliIndia
2019Ben StokesEngland
2021Shaheen AfridiPakistan
2022Babar AzamPakistan
2023Pat CumminsAustralia

Stats Highlights

2 – Most times any player have won this awards – Virat Kohli (2017 & 2018), Ricky Ponting (2006 & 2007) & Mitchell Johnson (2009 & 2014).

Steve Smith – the youngest player to win this award at the age of 26 in 2015.

Sachin Tendulkar – the oldest player to win this award at the age of 37 in 2010.

Ponting and Virat are the only two players to win this award in the consecutive years.

The World Cup winning Australian Captain, Pat Cummins won the latest Sir Garfield Sobers award in 2023.

Kallis and Flintoff share the ICC Cricketer of the year award in 2005
Kallis and Flintoff in ICC Awards

Both Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis were declared as the joint winners of this award in 2005. Both players finished level on 86 votes after the count-up votes of the 50-member ICC Awards Voting Academy.

Have a look at our Top 5 Cricketers of the Decade (2010s)

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy – Name Reason

Inarticle 80

The award is presented in the name of a former West Indies cricket team captain – Sir Garfield Sobers. His name was chosen by a panel consisting of Sunil Gavaskar, Michael Holding and Richie Benaud.

Sir Garfield, who is also known as Garry Sobers, played for West Indies between 1954 and 1974. He is considered as the game’s best ever all-rounder. He played 93 Tests, scored 8032 runs at an average of 57.78, and picked 235 wickets to his name. His score of 365 not out against Pakistan in 1958, was the highest Test individual score in an innings until Brian Lara broke it in 1994. He was also the first batsman ever to hit six sixes in a single over of six consecutive balls in first-class cricket.

Rahul Dravid cricketer of the year 2004

The Award was first presented in 2004 to Rahul Dravid – former Indian batsman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *