StatsIndeedWorld Cup

Top 10: Most Player of the Match Awards in T20 World Cup History

The T20 World Cup is a prestigious tournament in the shortest format of the game. So players are eager to give their best, leaving their mark on the tournament’s history.

Many players have been standout performers for their respective teams, displaying their individual brilliance. To award such players for their impactful performances, they are bestowed with the Player of the Match (POTM) accolade.

On that note, let’s look at the top 10 players with the most POTM awards in T20 World Cup history.

Most POTM Awards in T20 World Cup

PlayerMatchesPOTM Awards
Virat Kohli (IND)307
Adam Zampa (AUS)175
Chris Gayle (WI)335
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)315
Shane Watson (AUS)245
AB de Villiers (SA)304
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)354
Shahid Afridi (PAK)344
Ravichandran Ashwin (IND)243
Jos Buttler (ENG)293

Key Insights

Virat Kohli holds the record for bagging the most Player of the Match awards in T20 World Cup history. He is the only player with more than 5 POTM awards in the competition.

Kohli has also clinched the Player of the Tournament award the most times (2). He was adjudged the Player of the Tournament in consecutive editions in 2014 and 2016.

4 POTM awards won by Shane Watson are the most in a single T20 World Cup edition. The former Australian all-rounder was in beast mode in the 2012 iteration.

Virat Kohli is the only player to grab 2 POTM awards each in 3 or more T20 World Cup editions. The Indian batter won 2 match awards each in the 2012, 2016, and 2022 editions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *