In T20I cricket, the powerplay phase is challenging for every bowling side. Thanks to the fielding restrictions, opponent batters go bang bang from the first ball, putting bowlers under pressure.

However, a few bowlers have used the new ball skillfully to unsettle batters, resulting in grabbing crucial wickets. They have also replicated their success in the all-important T20 World Cup.

Here we’ll look at the top 10 bowlers with the most wickets in powerplay in T20 World Cup history.

Most Wickets in Powerplay in T20 World Cup

Samuel Badree (WI)15125.37
Josh Hazlewood (AUS)16126.11
Shaheen Shah Afridi (PAK)16125.75
Taskin Ahmed (BAN)16125.61
Trent Boult (NZ)15116.06
Maheesh Theekshana (SL)1695.31
Chris Woakes (ENG)1296.51
Arshdeep Singh (IND)895.50
Mitchell Starc (AUS)2296.62
Mujeeb Ur Rahman (AFG)785.72

Key Insights

Spinners generally don’t bowl much in the powerplay, but Samuel Badree has picked up the most wickets among tweakers. The former Caribbean leg spinner picked up 12 wickets in powerplay overs.

Maheesh Theekshana, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are the other 3 spinners with 7 or more wickets in the powerplay.

Ajantha Mendis has the lowest economy rate among the bowlers who have bowled 30 or more balls and picked up 5 or more wickets in the powerplay. The Sri Lankan spinner’s economy is just 4.00 in the powerplay phase.

Over 8 bowlers have delivered 100 or more dot balls in powerplay overs. Samuel Badree is the only spinner with 127 dot balls out of 222 balls bowled by him in powerplay.

Trent Boult is the only bowler who has picked up 10 or more wickets in powerplay and death overs in the T20 World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *