World Cup

Pakistan vs England Head-to-Head in ODI World Cup

England vs Pakistan encounters in the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup history have left a lasting impression on cricket fans with tense contests. Both of these teams have delivered thrilling performances at the quadrennial event throughout the last five decades, with the 1992 World Cup Final being one of the toughest matches.

England and Pakistan have met 10 times in ICC ODI World Cup events. England has won 4 of these ten games, while Pakistan has triumphed 5 times. One match ended with no result.

Here are all the head-to-head results between Pakistan and England in the ODI World Cup.

Pakistan vs England: All Results in ODI World Cup

June 16, 1979England won by 14 runsLeeds
June 13, 1983 England won by 8 wicketsLord’s
June 18, 1983England won by 7 wicketsManchester
October 12, 1987Pakistan won by 18 runsRawalpindi
October 20, 1987Pakistan won by 7 wicketsKarachi
March 1, 1992No resultAdelaide
March 25, 1992Pakistan won by 22 runsMelbourne
March 3, 1996Pakistan won by 7 wicketsKarachi
February 22, 2003England won by 112 runsCape Town
June 3, 2019Pakistan won by 14 runsNottingham

1979: Leeds

England and Pakistan met for the first time in the 1979 edition. After electing to bowl first, Pakistan’s bowling attack restricted England to 165/9 in 60 overs. The target wasn’t big, but Pakistan faltered in the chase, and England went on to win the game by 14 runs.

1983: Lord’s and Manchester

In 1983, the two teams faced off against one another twice at the World Cup. In the first head-to-head encounter, Pakistan reached 193/8, thanks to Zaheer Abbas’ unbeaten 83. In response, England chased down the target with 8 wickets in hand.

After a gap of 4 days, both sides played in their second match, and Pakistan again batted first, scoring 232/8 runs. This time as well, the English top order didn’t face much trouble, and they reached the target with 7 wickets to spare.

1987: Rawalpindi and Karachi

Pakistanis responded on consecutive occasions at their home ground in 1987. The first match took place in Rawalpindi where England asked Pakistan to bat first. Pakistan managed to score 239 runs in 50 overs. In reply, England got off to a decent start and they were placed well on 206/4, but lost all their wickets and lost the match by 18 runs.

In the second head-to-head match, Bill Athey’s 86 helped England post 244/9 on the board. While chasing the target, Ramiz Raja (113) led from the front and helped Pakistan win the match by 7 wickets.

1992: Adelaide and Melbourne

In the 1992 edition as well, Pakistan and England played against each other twice. In the first match, England bowled out Pakistan for a mere 74 runs. Later, the match was interrupted during England’s chase, and the match ended with no result.

The sides then faced off in the final of the tournament. Batting first, Pakistan lost early wickets, but crucial batting performances from the middle order ensured they reached 249 runs. While defending the target, Wasim Akram produced a stunning spell of 3/49, helping Pakistan defeat England by 22 runs and lift the coveted trophy.

1996: Karachi

England decided to bat first and managed to score 249 runs owing to a solid opening partnership of 147 between Robin Smith and Mike Atherton. In response, Pakistan chased down the target with 7 wickets in hand.

2003: Cape Town

The next head-to-head encounter between Pakistan and England was in Cape Town. Batting first, England managed to post 246/8 on the scoreboard. Then England skittled out Pakistan for 134 runs and registered a dominating win by 112 runs.

2019: Nottingham

In a high-scoring thriller, Pakistan hammered 348 runs on the board and set a challenging target for England. While chasing the target, Joe Root (107) and Jos Buttler (103) scored centuries, but that wasn’t enough and Pakistan won by 14 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *