ArticlesWorld Cup

List: Players Who Have Won the Most ODI World Cups

If you ask any die-hard cricket fan which country has won the ODI World Cup the most, they will, without any doubt, say Australia. But if you ask them which player has won the trophy the most, they may not have the right answer.

And if you are one of them, then don’t worry. I have got you covered.

In this article, I will list the players who have won the most ODI World Cup titles.

Most Cricket World Cups Won as a Player

Just like Australia is an undisputed team that has won the Cricket World Cup 5 times, there are 3 Australian players who have won that coveted trophy 3 times each.

Who are the 3 Aussies? Well, the lucky players are Glenn McGrath, Ricky Ponting, and Adam Gilchrist.

Glenn McGrath

Glenn McGrath was the backbone of the Australian pace attack in the 4 World Cups in which he participated from 1996 to 2007. The medium pacer has picked up the most wickets in the tournament’s history.

McGrath’s powerful bowling performances were crucial to Australia lifting the title in 1999, 2003, and 2007. His 26 wickets in the 2007 edition helped Australia complete the hat trick of winning the World Cups.

Also Read | Top 10: Most Wickets in a Single ODI World Cup

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting is undoubtedly the most successful captain in Cricket World Cup history, having won 26 matches out of the 29 he captained. He also played in 5 ODI World Cups from 1996 to 2011 and led the team in the 2003, 2007, and 2011 editions.

Just like McGrath, Ponting was also part of the World Cup winning squad in 1999, 2003, and 2007. In 1999, he won it as a player, and then in 2003 and 2007, he led the team to victory.

Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist is one of the greatest keeper-batters the world has seen. He was instrumental in Australia winning the world title on the trot from 1999 to 2007.

Gilchrist’s valuable contributions from behind the wicket and with the bat proved to be a game-changer for his team. In his 3 World Cup appearances, he amassed 1085 runs, with his 149-run knock in the 2007 final powering Australia to lift the title for the 4th time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *