Top 10: Players with Most Run Outs in ODI

Run out dismissals have been a common phenomenon in cricket since the game’s inception, but the occurrences of this in international cricket are more common in the shorter formats of the game when compared to Tests.

This is because the batters would have to take risky singles or doubles in the ODIs or T20Is due to the time factor, while the batsmen don’t face such issues in Tests that often.

So run out dismissals do happen a lot in the white-ball formats, and here in this article, we will determine which of the batters have been at the receiving end of this quite a lot as far as ODI cricket is concerned. Here are the top 10 players with the most run outs in ODIs.

Players with Most Run Outs in ODI

PlayerInningsNo. of Run Outs
Marvan Atapattu (SL)25941
Rahul Dravid (IND)31840
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)35040
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)41839
Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)27338
Wasim Akram (PAK)28038
Sachin Tendulkar (IND)45234
Mohammad Azharuddin (IND)30832
Mark Waugh (AUS)23632
Ricky Ponting (AUS)36531

Key insights from the above stats

1545: The number of players who have been dismissed at least once in their ODI careers by way of run out, while 37 have gotten out through the way of run out at least 20 times.

41: Marvan Atapattu leads the pack with this unwanted record of bagging the most run out dismissals in ODI cricket. India’s Rahul Dravid follows suit by getting run out 40 times.

6.51: Marvan Atapattu gets out through a run out on an average of 6.51 games, while Asanka Gurusinha, with 27 ducks in 147 matches, gets out via a run out in every 5.44 matches.

1892: Attapattu expectedly scored the most runs in the 41 innings he was dismissed by way of a run out. He has an average of 46.14 with 3 centuries. Sachin has scored 5 centuries, while Mark Waugh has 4 tons.

3: The number of players each from India (Dravid, Sachin, and Azharuddin) and Pakistan (Inzamam, Wasim Akram, and Mohammad Yousuf) are present in this list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *