Rajasthan Royals – IPL Results Every Year

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) are among the teams that have won the coveted IPL trophy. In fact, RR was the first team to win the IPL title in the inaugural 2008 season under the captaincy of Shane Warne.

Since their title triumph in 2008, RR has been plagued with inconsistency, which has kept them away from another title victory. However, their performance has been resurgent in the last few years.

This article will glance over the Rajasthan Royals’ year-by-year performance in IPL history.

RR Year-wise Performances in IPL

YearSeries ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
20096th Place135710
20107th Place146800
20116th Place136700
20127th Place167900
2013Qualifier 21811700
20145th Place146710
20197th Place145801
20208th Place146800
20217th Place145900
2022Runner Up1710700
20235th Place147700

Key Insights

The Rajasthan Royals have made it to the IPL Playoffs in 5 seasons and the finals in 2 seasons. Out of the 2 finals, they lifted the IPL trophy in the 2008 season while being a runner-up in 2022.

The Royals have also reached Qualifier 2 once (2013) and Eliminator twice in their consecutive editions (2015 and 2018).

Throughout their IPL participation, RR has at least won 5 games in every season. However, 2020 was their worst season, as Rajasthan ended up in the last spot (8th) on the points table.

RR has finished in 7th place on the points table in 4 different seasons (2010, 2012, 2019, 2021). 

Inarticle 80

The Rajasthan Royals logged 13 wins in the inaugural IPL season, making it the most wins in a single IPL season (knockout matches included). Later, in 2013, the Mumbai Indians equalled RR’s record by winning 13 matches.

Shane Warne and Sanju Samson are the only 2 players who have led the Rajasthan Royals in 50 or more IPL matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *