ArticlesWorld Cup

The Venues of World Cup 2023 – A Detailed Lookup

The World Cup 2023 is a historic event for India. And India is hosting the 50-over World Cup solely for the first time.

They did it for the first time in 1987, then again nine years later in 1996, and finally in 2011, but each time they were joint hosts, with Sri Lanka, Pakistan, or Bangladesh hosting some of the matches. 

All 48 matches, including the knockouts and final, will be held in ten cities this time: Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, and Kolkata.

Teams Participating in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023

This year’s World Cup will include ten teams. India qualified immediately as the hosts, as did Afghanistan, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa via the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

Two more teams qualified for the main event through the World Cup Qualifiers, which were held in Zimbabwe in June and July. The Qualifiers featured Ireland, Nepal, the Netherlands, Oman, Scotland, the UAE, the United States, and hosts Zimbabwe, in addition to former champions Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

While Sri Lanka and the Netherlands qualified for the World Cup through qualifiers, the West Indies failed due to a poor performance in the ICC World Cup qualifier.

ODI World Cup 2023 Venues

CityStadium Name Capacity
AhmedabadNarendra Modi Stadium1,20,000
KolkataEden Gardens66,000
HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium55,000
LucknowBRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium55,000
ChennaiM. A. Chidambaram Stadium50,000
DelhiArun Jaitley Stadium41,820
BengaluruM. Chinnaswamy Stadium40,000
PuneMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium37,406
MumbaiWankhede Stadium33,000
DharamshalaHPCA Stadium23,000

In addition to the ten venues for the main event, the warm-up games will be held at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati and the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad will also host two warm-up matches.

Except for the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, which will hold three matches, each stadium will host five. The tournament’s opening and closing matches will be held at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will each host one semi-final match.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 will have 48 matches in total. The event will be played in a Round-Robin format, with 45 group-stage games, two semi-final matches, and one final.

Also Read | The Format of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

The following is a complete list of the matches that each stadium will host:

Narendra Modi Stadium (Ahmedabad)

England vs. New ZealandOctober 5
India vs. PakistanOctober 14
England vs. AustraliaNovember 4
South Africa vs. AfghanistanNovember 10
Final (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.)November 19

Eden Gardens (Kolkata)

Netherlands vs. BangladeshOctober 28
Pakistan vs. BangladeshOctober 31
India vs. South AfricaNovember 5
England vs. PakistanNovember 11
Semi-Final 2 (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.)November 16

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad)

Pakistan vs. NetherlandsOctober 6
New Zealand vs. NetherlandsOctober 9
Pakistan vs. Sri LankaOctober 10

Ekana Cricket Stadium (Lucknow)

Australia vs. South AfricaOctober 12
Australia vs. Sri LankaOctober 16
Netherlands vs. Sri LankaOctober 21
India vs. EnglandOctober 29
Netherlands vs. AfghanistanNovember 3

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)

India vs. AustraliaOctober 8
New Zealand vs. BangladeshOctober 13
New Zealand vs. AfghanistanOctober 18
Pakistan vs. AfghanistanOctober 23
Pakistan vs. South AfricaOctober 27

Arun Jaitley Stadium (Delhi)

South Africa vs. Sri LankaOctober 7
India vs. AfghanistanOctober 11
England vs. AfghanistanOctober 15
Australia vs. NetherlandsOctober 25
Bangladesh vs. Sri LankaNovember 6

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru)

Australia vs. PakistanOctober 20
England vs. Sri LankaOctober 26
New Zealand vs. PakistanNovember 4
New Zealand vs. Sri LankaNovember 9
India vs. NetherlandsNovember 12

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium (Pune)

India vs. BangladeshOctober 19
Afghanistan vs. Sri LankaOctober 30
New Zealand vs. South AfricaNovember 1
England vs. NetherlandsNovember 8
Australia vs. BangladeshNovember 11

Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai)

England vs. South AfricaOctober 21
South Africa vs. BangladeshOctober 24
India vs. Sri LankaNovember 2
Australia vs. AfghanistanNovember 7
Semi-Final 1 (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.)November 15

HPCA Stadium (Dharamshala)

Bangladesh vs. AfghanistanOctober 7
England vs. BangladeshOctober 10
South Africa vs. NetherlandsOctober 17
India vs. New ZealandOctober 22
Australia vs. New ZealandOctober 28

The BCCI has provided funding to all host associations in order to enhance the tournament venues. Newer stadiums, such as the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad and the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow, are in better shape and will only require aesthetic upgrades. In addition, many stadiums’ outfields have recently been resurfaced in order to improve playing conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *