StatsIndeedWorld Cup

Stats: Most Consecutive Fifties in T20 World Cup History

In an elite tournament like the T20 World Cup, putting out consistent performances is paramount for any batter. 

Consistency, more often than not, takes centre stage in T20Is as it shows a batter’s exceptional talent and temperament. That alone is sufficient to classify them as the best in the business.

The T20 World Cup has seen batters own the stage by scoring fifties in back-to-back games, showcasing their remarkable persistence.

In this article, we’ll list the batters with the most consecutive fifties in T20 World Cup history.

Most Consecutive Fifties in T20 World Cup

PlayerNo. of 50sRunsAgainstVenueDate
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)381New ZealandProvidence30 Apr 2010
100ZimbabweProvidence3 May 2010
98*West IndiesBridgetown7 May 2010
Virat Kohli (IND)382*AustraliaMohali27 Mar 2016
89*West IndiesWankhede31 Mar 2016
57PakistanDubai (DICS)24 Oct 2021
Babar Azam (PAK)351AfghanistanDubai (DICS)29 Oct 2021
70NamibiaAbu Dhabi2 Nov 2021
66ScotlandSharjah7 Nov 2021
KL Rahul (IND)369AfghanistanAbu Dhabi3 Nov 2021
50ScotlandDubai (DICS)5 Nov 2021
54*NamibiaDubai (DICS)8 Nov 2021
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)288KenyaJohannesburg14 Sep 2007
61New ZealandJohannesburg15 Sep 2007
Matthew Hayden (AUS)267*EnglandCape Town14 Sep 2007
73*BangladeshCape Town16 Sep 2007
Gautam Gambhir (IND)251New ZealandJohannesburg16 Sep 2007
58EnglandDurban19 Sep 2007
Shoaib Malik (PAK)257Sri LankaJohannesburg17 Sep 2007
52*AustraliaJohannesburg18 Sep 2007
Yuvraj Singh (IND)258EnglandDurban19 Sep 2007
70AustraliaDurban22 Sep 2007
Matthew Hayden (AUS)258*Sri LankaCape Town20 Sep 2007
62IndiaDurban22 Sep 2007
Gautam Gambhir (IND)275PakistanJohannesburg24 Sep 2007
50BangladeshNottingham6 Jun 2009
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)253AustraliaNottingham8 Jun 2009
74West IndiesNottingham10 Jun 2009
Dwayne Bravo (WI)251Sri LankaNottingham10 Jun 2009
66*IndiaLord’s12 Jun 2009
Shahid Afridi (PAK)251South AfricaNottingham18 Jun 2009
54*Sri LankaLord’s21 Jun 2009
Kevin Pietersen (ENG)273*PakistanBridgetown6 May 2010
53South AfricaBridgetown8 May 2010
Umar Akmal (PAK)251South AfricaGros Islet10 May 2010
56*AustraliaGros Islet14 May 2010
Chris Gayle (WI)254AustraliaColombo (RPS)22 Sep 2012
58EnglandPallekele27 Sep 2012
Shane Watson (AUS)272IndiaColombo (RPS)28 Sep 2012
70South AfricaColombo (RPS)30 Sep 2012
Virat Kohli (IND)254West IndiesMirpur23 Mar 2014
57*BangladeshMirpur28 Mar 2014
Rohit Sharma (IND)262*West IndiesMirpur23 Mar 2014
56BangladeshMirpur28 Mar 2014
Virat Kohli (IND)272*South AfricaMirpur4 Apr 2014
77Sri LankaMirpur6 Apr 2014
Max O’Dowd (NED)251IrelandAbu Dhabi18 Oct 2021
70NamibiaAbu Dhabi20 Oct 2021
Jos Buttler (ENG)271*AustraliaDubai (DICS)30 Oct 2021
101*Sri LankaSharjah1 Nov 2021
Kusal Mendis (SL)279NetherlandsGeelong20 Oct 2022
68*IrelandHobart23 Oct 2022
Virat Kohli (IND)282*PakistanMelbourne23 Oct 2022
62*NetherlandsSydney27 Oct 2022
Suryakumar Yadav (IND)251*NetherlandsSydney27 Oct 2022
68South AfricaPerth30 Oct 2022
Glenn Phillips (NZ)2104Sri LankaSydney29 Oct 2022
62EnglandBrisbane1 Nov 2022

Key Insights

In 2010, Mahela Jayawardene became the first batter to score 3 consecutive fifties in the T20 World Cup. Apart from him, Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, and KL Rahul have notched up fifties in 3 successive innings.

Kohli and Gautam Gambhir are the only 2 batters with consecutive half-centuries across 2 T20 World Cup editions. Kohli’s streak of 3 fifties spanned 2 editions, with 2 coming in 2016 and the remaining one in 2021. Likewise, Gambhir ended the 2007 iteration with a 75-run knock and opened the 2009 campaign with a fifty.

Jayawardene, Jos Buttler, and Glenn Phillips are the 3 batters who have scored a fifty and a century in their respective consecutive innings in the T20 World Cup.

Also Read | List of Centuries in T20 World Cup

Babar Azam and KL Rahul brought up 3 back-to-back fifties in the 2021 T20 World Cup edition against the same 3 opponents. Both batters scored a half-century each against Afghanistan, Namibia, and Scotland.

Virat Kohli is the only batter with 4 or more instances of scoring fifties in 2 or more consecutive innings. Gautam Gambhir and Matthew Hayden have achieved this feat twice.

The Netherlands Max O’Dowd is the only batter from an associate team to score consecutive half-centuries in the T20 World Cup. He attained the feat in 2021 by accumulating 51 against Ireland and 70 against Namibia in back-to-back innings.

6 Indian batters have racked up fifties in 2 or more consecutive innings in the T20 World Cup — the most batters from any team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *