Top 10 : Most Number of Overs Bowled in IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has completely changed the face of Indian cricket. It has brought in a lot of revenue to the Indian economy and has given many talented players to Indian cricket. IPL has usually been considered a batsman-dominated game. It requires a brave heart to be a bowler in T20 cricket.

Batsmen win you matches, but bowlers win you tournaments. This line holds perfectly true for the IPL. Great bowlers have been the biggest reason behind the most successful breaks in the history of IPL.

Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, and Harbhajan Singh have been the biggest reasons for the success of Mumbai Indians in IPL. Similarly, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ravichandran Ashwin with the bowl have played a big part in CSK’s success. Sunil Narine has carried the KKR bowling attack over the years.

Bowlers are responsible for taking wickets and bowling economical spells in an IPL match to create their impact. IPL has witnessed several legendary bowlers. This article will look at the top 10 bowlers who have bowled the most number of overs in the IPL.

Ravichandran Ashwin623
Harbhajan Singh569
Sunil Narine560
Piyush Chawla545
Amit Mishra540
Ravindra Jadeja530
Bhuvneshwar Kumar525
DJ Bravo515
Lasith Malinga471
Umesh Yadav460
Top 10 : Most overs bowled in IPL

Stats Insights

Chennai-born spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has bowled the most number of overs (623) in the history of IPL. Ashwin has represented Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Pune Supergiants, Kings XI Punjab, and now represents Rajasthan Royals in IPL. He is a versatile T20 bowler who can bowl in Powerplay too. He has taken the most wickets in Powerplay among spinners.

Spinners dominate the top 6 positions in this list. It is because of the fact that spinners usually have a longer career than pace bowlers. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, DJ Bravo, Lasith Malinga, and Umesh Yadav are the only pacers present in the top 10 list.

Among pacers, Lasith Maliga has bowled the most overs in IPL. He also has the best economy rate ( 7.1), best bowling average (19.8), and best bowling SR (16.6). Malinga is undoubtedly the greatest pacer in the history of IPL. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has bowled the most number of dot balls in the history of IPL. KKR spinner Sunil Narine has taken the most 4 wicket hauls in IPL.

Among spinners, Sunil Narine has the best economy rate (6.6). At the same time, Amit Mishra has the best bowling average (23.9). Umesh Yadav has the highest economy rate among all bowlers on this list. Ravindra Jadeja has the worst bowling average among all bowlers present here. Piyush Chawla has the record of getting hit for most sixes in the history of IPL.

Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Axar Patel have a great chance to enter the top 3 in this list if they continue their great performances and fitness.

Also Read: Most Balls Faced in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *