Cricket News

When will be the next T20 World Cup?

When will there be next T20 International World Cup? – A Question which is common around the Cricket forums nowadays.

The T20 Cricket has become the popular format among the cricket fans. Especially the associate teams which are arriving at the international stage very recently have been impressive.

ICC trying to make Cricket a global game, has found that the T20 is the way to reach the game to the global audience.

The last T20 World Cup was played in India in 2017 and won by West Indies after a famous 4 Sixes in a row by Carlos Brathwaite in the last over bowled by Ben Stokes.

When will be the next ICC T20 World Cup be played?

Highly-placed sources in the International Cricket Council have confirmed the news.

“Yes, it is true that we are skipping with World T20 edition in 2018. Look, no venue was decided. The primary reason is there are too many bilateral series happening between member nations. It was not possible to schedule the tournament in 2018,” an influential ICC source told PTI.

ALSO READ: Nicknames of Cricketers – An Overview

However, after giving a miss to the highly celebrated tournament on 2018, ICC decided to bring back the tournament on 2020. But with the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 T20 world cup has been further postponed to happen on October 2021 in Australia.

So it will be a big wait for the tournament which has been highly celebrated for over a decade.

ICC World T20
West Indies has won two T20 World Cups so far.

It’s India who won the inaugural edition of the tournament on 2007 under MS Dhoni.

With Pakistan and Australia too, have won the T20 World Cup once, West Indies had been the most consistent team in the shorter version of the game, who has won it two times so far, and ultimately they are the defending Champions.

To Close,

With the news coming from a trustable source, it seems West Indies will stay the defending Champions for a period of more than 5 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *