T20 is largely a game of sixes.

In a tournament like Indian Premier League, bowlers tend to concede more runs as their primary job is to pick wickets. So restricting a batsman from hitting a six is a challenging job, however godly the bowler is. A fraction of a miss in the ball’s line or length, and the modern-day batsman are well-equipped to hit you a six. Very few bowlers were able to do that. Here, you can find a list of bowlers who have bowled the most dot balls in IPL.

In contrast, some bowlers have conceded sixes in bulk. Sometimes conceding a six is a part of the bowler’s play to make the batsman mistake his following balls.

This article will discuss the bowlers who have conceded the most number of sixes in IPL since its inauguration.

Bowlers Conceding Most Sixes in IPL

Piyush Chawla1981791.11
Yuzvendra Chahal1941441.35
Ravindra Jadeja1921960.98
Ravichandran Ashwin1841940.95
Amit Mishra1811611.11
Dwayne Bravo1551580.98
Sunil Narine1491610.93
Harbhajan Singh1451600.91
Umesh Yadav1401401.00
Axar Patel1391341.04

Stats Insights

The list can be misguiding as you see the bowlers’ longevity in the tournament can also put a bowler on this list. I added the ‘sixes per innings’ column in the above table.

In article image middle

Yuzvendra Chahal is one bowler who likes to toss it up to the batsman who worked for him for long seasons. His bravery has scalped him many wickets. Triumphing a batsman in smaller grounds like Bangalore’s Chinnaswamy stadium for a long period is a huge achievement. That’s why his name in the list too.

Sunil Narine, who has the lowest sixes-per-innings ratio on this list, is easily my pick. He is also one of the top 10 most economical bowlers in the tournament.

Another factor that inclines a bowler to concede more sixes is their bowling in the death overs – the reason you find Dwayne Bravo and Jaydev Unadkat in this list. Find out our top 10 death-over specialist bowlers here.

In article ad end

Bowlers like Lasith Malinga, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah should be appreciated for not featuring in this list despite playing the tournament for a long time; also, to an extent, Rashid Khan and Sandeep Sharma.

Read Now: Most IPL wickets by a bowler who has not picked a 5-wicket haul

Buvanesh Thiraviam - writer in Cricindeed

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at Cricindeed.com

Buvanesh Thiraviam

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at Cricindeed.com

Buvanesh Thiraviam has 721 posts and counting. See all posts by Buvanesh Thiraviam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *