In T20 cricket, unlike in other formats, the instance of a batter making a century in an innings is rare. Teams prefer impact innings by a batter or 2 more than a high score.

But if a certain high score by a batter gives the maximum impact to the team, there is nothing like that and a captain making those scores gives them a huge boost.

In this article, we will discuss the top 10 highest individual scores smashed by captains in an IPL innings while leading the side.

Highest Individual Score as Captain in IPL

PlayerRuns (Balls)4s/6sAgainstVenueDate
KL Rahul
(Kings XI Punjab)
132*(69)14/7Royal Challengers BangaloreDubai24 Sep 2020
David Warner
(Sunrisers Hyderabad)
126 (59)10/8Kolkata Knight RidersHyderabad30 Apr 2017
Virender Sehwag
(Delhi Daredevils)
119 (56)13/6Deccan ChargersHyderabad5 May 2011
Sanju Samson
(Rajasthan Royals)
119 (63)12/7Punjab KingsMumbai (Wankhede)12 Apr 2021
Virat Kohli
(Royal Challengers Bangalore)
113 (50)12/8Kings XI PunjabBengaluru18 May 2016
Virat Kohli
(Royal Challengers Bangalore)
109 (55)5/8Gujarat Lions Bengaluru14 May 2016
Virat Kohli
(Royal Challengers Bangalore)
108* (58)8/7Rising Pune SupergiantsBengaluru7 May 2016
Ruturaj Gaikwad
(Chennai Super Kings)
108* (60)12/3Lucknow Super GiantsChennai23 Apr 2024
Adam Gilchrist
(Kings XI Punjab)
106 (55)8/9Royal Challengers BangaloreDharamsala17 May 2011
Shubman Gill
(Gujarat Titans)
104 (55)9/6Chennai Super KingsAhmedabad10 May 2024

Key Insights

13: The number of instances of a captain scoring a century in an IPL innings. This has been achieved by 7 different batters in the 17 seasons of IPL.

Sachin Tendulkar is the other batter to have struck a century while leading the side. The batting legend made an unbeaten 100 off 66 balls while playing for MI against the now-defunct Kochi Tuskers Kerala team in the 2011 season.

Virat Kohli has scored the most number of centuries in the history of the IPL as a captain (5), and 4 of them came in the 2016 season alone. Apart from the 3 hundreds listed above, he has scored 100* against the Gujarat Lions at Rajkot (2016) and 100 against KKR (2019). (Check out Virat Kohli’s IPL centuries here.)

KL Rahul comes in next with 3 centuries as a captain (1 for Punjab and the other 2 for Lucknow).

Also Read | List: Players with Centuries for 2 Different IPL Teams

Inarticle 80

There have been 2 scores of unbeaten 99 by captains in the IPL, and the batters are Mayank Agarwal (2021) and Shikhar Dhawan (2023). Both knocks came while the batters were leading the Punjab Kings in the respective editions.

226 is the best strike rate for a batter with a minimum of 100 runs in an innings while leading a side, and this was by Virat Kohli. The innings in question is his 113 (50) versus Punjab at Bengaluru back in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *