Top 5: Most “Man of the Match” in IPL

Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen many match-winners since its inception. Many players have gone on to win a lot of matches for their respective teams and have thus won many “Man of the Match” awards in the history of the league.

The Man of the match award is often given to the outstanding player in a particular match. This can be a player from either team, although the player is generally chosen from the winning team.

In this article, we shall be looking at the top 5 players who have won the most number of ‘Man of the Match’ awards in IPL history.

1) AB De Villiers – 25

Often referred to as the “Superman” of cricket, AB De Villiers has won the most number of Man of the Match awards in the league’s history. He has won 25 MoM awards ever since he started playing in IPL. ABD began his IPL career with the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and later on went on to represent RCB. ABD has been synonymous with RCB, as he has won a lot of matches for them. He won a few Man of the Match awards in IPL 2020 itself. This shows how impactful ABD has been for RCB.

2) Chris Gayle – 22

Chris Gayle is often referred to as the “Universe Boss” and has been one of the greatest T20 players ever. He has won 22 Man of the Match awards in IPL. It is safe to call Gayle one of the greatest IPL players of all time; it is him who has managed to create a “Gaylestorm” or the fireworks and thus entertain all the fans with his effortless sixes. The “Universe Boss” started his IPL career in KKR and then represented RCB in 2011. He immediately became a fan favorite over there and represented RCB for seven seasons. He has been playing for KXIP since 2018 and has been a success over there as well.

3) Rohit Sharma – 18

Rohit Sharma has been India’s best opener for quite a while now. He has been one of the most outstanding performers in IPL as well. Rohit Sharma has won 18 Man of the Match awards, which is also the most number of MOTM awards for an Indian player. He started his IPL career in Deccan Chargers Chargers, going to Mumbai Indians. Over the years, Rohit has managed to win 5 IPL trophies and remains an undisputed champion.

4) David Warner – 17 

Inarticle 80

Australian opener David Warner has been the best IPL batsman for quite a while now. In a league where the best of best struggle, he has been scoring runs for fun and winning matches for his franchise all by himself. During his long IPL career, Warner has won 17 Man of the Match awards. Warner started his IPL career at Delhi Daredevils(now Delhi Capitals) and has been playing for SRH since 2014.

5) MS Dhoni – 17

MS Dhoni has been one of India’s biggest hitters in the league; the CSK captain has won 17 Man of the Match awards in IPL. Dhoni has single-handedly changed the fate of CSK matches with his big-hitting abilities. An important point to remember is that he has won many numbers of the Man of the Match awards batting at 5 and 6 and thus remains one of the greatest players to have played the league – the feat which he has donned in the International cricket too, for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *