IPL 2020

IPL 2020 – Predicting 5 Players who could win the MVP award this season

It is safe to call Indian Premier League the toughest league in the world. Every cricketer dreams of getting an IPL contract. However performing in IPL isn’t as easy as everyone thinks, the standards of IPL are very high, and it requires a player with immense skills to perform in such a difficult stage. The player who performs the best throughout the tournament wins the “MVP” award of the season.

MVP over here refers to the “Most Valuable Player”. Over the years many world-class players have won the MVP award. Winning the player of the tournament award is very hard in every tournament, likewise, winning the MVP award in IPL is a massive achievement.

Today we shall be taking a look at 5 such players who could win the MVP award this season.

1) Andre Russell

Russell has been one of the best T20 cricketers for quite a while now. Anyone who has followed the IPL over the years wouldn’t be surprised on seeing Andre Russell’s name over here. He won the MVP award last season, and there’s absolutely no reason why he can’t repeat his heroics. Russel has IPL’s most giant beast, to say the least. He has an average of 33 and a tremendous strike rate of 186. He is a decent seamer as well. Like every year, Russell is KKR’s best player going into IPL 2020, and the KKR fans would hope that he can repeat his IPL 2019 heroics.

2) KL Rahul

KL Rahul has been a pillar for the Indian team of late. His T20I, as well as T20 record, is “Out of This World” to say the least. He has been one of the best players in the IPL for the last two seasons. He has an average of 42 and a strike rate of 138. He has carried KXIP in the previous 2 editions of the league, and there’s no reason why he can’t win the MVP award this time around.

3) Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya has been India’s best all-rounder in the shortest format of the game for quite some time now. His muscle power is of a completely different level as he could hit the big shots for fun (one of our 7 biggest power-hitters of modern-days). He has been one of MI’s best players in the last few editions of the league. He is a wicket-taker with the bowl too, add his athletic fielding skills, and he’s a complete package and thus has a good chance of winning the MVP award this time around.

4) Jofra Archer

Some people wouldn’t have expected Archer to make this list, but if you’ve seen him bowl, then you would know the reason for his inclusion in this list. Archer has been one of the best T20 bowlers going around. He can generate the extra pace as well as execute the slower deliveries to perfection. Even the best of the best have failed to get the better of him in the recent past. Archer has taken 26 wickets at an economy of 7.5 despite bowling regularly at the death. Could Jofra Archer be the first Fast bowler to win the MVP award this season?

5) Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine has been one of KKR’s best players over the years. Despite playing as a proper spinner in the initial seasons, he now sees himself in the “All-Rounder” category. He has been promoted and has played the role of a pinch hitter to perfection. He has also been a fantastic bowler for KKR over the years. His tight bowling has kept the opposition batsman quiet more often than not. Having already won the MVP award in 2012 and 2018 can he win it for the third time?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *