Hosts India and 5-time world champion Australia are all set to clash in the final of the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. The final will take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, November 19.
The Indian and Australian fans are rooting for their respective teams to lift the coveted trophy. But what happens if the Cricket World Cup 2023 final ends in a tie? Will both teams be declared joint winners?
You must be aware of the drama that unfolded during the 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand. England was declared the champions based on the higher boundary count after the final match and the Super Over both ended in a tie.
The ICC got a lot of flak from the experts and fans for this rule back then. So, for the 2023 World Cup, the ICC has come up with some new rules.
What happens if the ODI World Cup 2023 final ends as a draw?
According to ICC playing conditions for the 2023 World Cup, if the final match between India and Australia ends in a tie, then a Super Over will be played to determine a winner. If the Super Over also ends in a tie, then subsequent Super Overs will be played until a team emerges as the winner.
If weather plays spoilsport in a tied final and a Super Over is not possible on the scheduled day or the reserve day, both teams will be declared joint winners of the 2023 World Cup.