IPL Centuries Distribution by Batting Positions of the Scorers

It isn’t a shocker for anyone to find out that most of the IPL centuries are scored by the opening batsmen.

Out of 87, only 21 centuries in IPL have been notched up by batsmen other than openers.

The table below illustrates the distribution of IPL centuries by batting positions:

Opener66Chris Gayle (175*)
No. 314AB de Villiers (133*)
No. 44Rishabh Pant (128*)
No. 53Ben Stokes (103*)
TOTAL87Chris Gayle (175*)
Table: IPL Centuries Distribution by Batting Positions

Stats Insights

Virat Kohli holds the record for the most number of centuries in IPL. Find here the list of batsmen who have scored more than 3 centuries in the tournament.

2023 is the year, which saw most number of centuries registered in a single season. Find here the season-wise distribution of IPL tons.

Inarticle 80

RCB and KXIP are the sides who have notched up most number of hundreds in the league. Find here the team-wise distribution of IPL centuries (most registered and most conceded)

So far, there have been 11 cricketers who have contributed century-plus scores for two different IPL franchises.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *