World Cup

India at the T20 World Cup – Results Every Edition

A young and inexperienced Indian team stunned the world by lifting the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007. Since then, the Indian cricket team’s stocks have risen rapidly against all teams, establishing themselves as the powerhouse of T20I cricket.

India’s performance slumped after their title victory in 2007, but since 2014, they have been dominating the global T20 tournament by consistently making it to the knockouts.

This article gives you an overview of India’s record in every T20 World Cup edition.

India’s Performance in Every T20 World Cup Edition

YearEdition ResultMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
2009Super 852300
2010Super 852300
2012Super 854100
2014Runner Up65100
2021Super 1253200

Key Insights

In 2007, India became the first team to win the T20 World Cup. They defeated their arch-rivals Pakistan in the final by 5 runs.

India’s group-stage match against Pakistan in 2007 ended in a tie, which they later won in the bowl out by 3-0. This is the only bowl-out that took place in the T20 World Cup’s history.

India finished their campaigns in the Super 8 stage for 3 consecutive editions in 2009, 2010, and 2012.

5 matches won by India in the 2007 and 2016 editions are the most wins for them in a single T20 World Cup edition.

India have qualified for the knockout stages in 4 T20 World Cup editions, reaching the final and semi-final twice each.

MS Dhoni has led India in 6 editions between 2007 and 2016, winning 20 matches out of 33. His 20 wins make him the most successful captain in T20 World Cup history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *